Civilia is a modern rock outfit from Phoenix, Arizona, created from a love of powerful music and striving to do something special with it. Comprised of vocalist/instrumentalist Cory Spotts and drummer Marty Welker, with songwriting and performance contributions from bassist Pierce Simpson and guitarist Mike Schey, Civilia has recently completed work on “False Senses,” their debut 7-song EP.

Recorded by the band themselves in bits and pieces over the course of several years, “False Senses” has its roots in modern rock, but the band’s myriad musical influences have infused the songs with elements of progressive, indie, shoegaze, electronic, trip-hop, Latin, and others, and have elevated the music beyond the typical genre fare.

Civilia can be found online at, as well as on Twitter (@civilia) and Facebook ( “False Senses” will be available on iTunes, and most digital services on September 30th, 2014.

Music by Cory Spotts and Marty Welker
except "Wires" by Pierce Simpson, Cory Spotts, Marty Welker, and Mike Schey

Cory Spotts - Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keys, Programming, Percussion
Marty Welker - Drums, Percussion
Pierce Simpson - Bass on "I Am," "We Are The Same," and "Wires" 

Produced, Engineered, and Mixed by Cory Spotts at BLUElight Audio|Media - 

Cover Artwork by Brock Lefferts - 

Thank you for listening.